Northeast Philadelphia

Due to the size of the Northeast, the Philadelphia City Planning Commission divides it into two regions called "Near Northeast" and "Far Northeast", the names being derived from their distance from Center City. The demarcation line between the two sections is typically given as Cottman Avenue.

Northeast Philadelphia is bounded by the Delaware River on the east, Bucks County on the north, and Montgomery County on the west. The southern limit is given as Frankford/Tacony Creek or Adams Avenue.

The Bridesburg-Kensington-Richmond section of Philadelphia is the area north of Center City.  This area consists of the neighborhoods including: Bridesburg, Fishtown, Juniata Park, New Kensington, North West Kensington, Port Richmond and Richmond.